Every year, each of CUHC’s six teams take on their Oxford counterparts in the annual Varsity matches. For the 2nd and 3rd XIs, these matches are held in late February. The venue alternates between home and away, and in 2017 this event will take place in Cambridge, at the Wilberforce Road hockey ground. The Blues’ matches are held two weeks later, typically on the second Sunday of March, on neutral turf.  Since 2003 the matches have been played at Southgate Hockey Centre in London. Varsity is the pinnacle of any Cambridge student’s sporting life, and selection is highly competitive for all six squads.

In 2016 all six Varsity matches were closely fought. The 2nds and 3rds Varsity Matches were a tough contest and particular congratulations go to the Women’s 2nd XI who won Varsity to add to their stellar season which includes double promotion and a BUCS cup win. Cambridge retained the men’s trophy but unfortunately surrendered the women’s. The Men won a tough match 2-1 despite snowfall just before half time. The women conceded a late goal to lose a tight match 1-2.

The 115th Blues’ Varsity match was held on Sunday 6th March 2016 at Southgate HC. This year it was kindly sponsored by JMAN Group.

The 2nd and 3rd team Varsity Matches took place at Iffley Road, Oxford in February 2016, but next year’s will be back home at Wilberforce Road, Cambridge.

For more information, please visit the website of the JMAN Group Varsity Match (Blues’ Varsity)

Men’s Blues’ Promotional Video

Women’s Blues’ Promotional Video

Both the Men’s and Women’s Varsity Matches were well-contested at Southgate Hockey Club on March 6th 2016.

Photography credit: Ed Doppler

2016. Cambridge Women's Blues 1: Oxford Women's Blues 2
Name School College
Claire Bond Nonsuch High School Trinity Hall
Sally Bradley Parmiter's School Trinity
Freddie Briscoe (GK) Norwich School Corpus Christi
Charlotte Burrows (C) Magdalene College School Selwyn
Sophie Cooke Parmiter's School Homerton
Lucia Corry Forest School Magdalene
Hatty Darling Malvern College Christ's
Therese De Souza Pates Grammar School Emmanuel
Lily Elliott Sevenoaks School St. John's
Faye Kidd Belfast Royal Academy Homerton
Alexandra Maskell St. Hilda's Anglican School for Girls Darwin
Harriet Moore Dame Allans School Gonville & Caius
Sophie Mullan Gresham's School Homerton
Sophia Padt Latymer Upper School St. Catharine's
Emily Thorpe (VC) Ampleforth College Murray Edwards
Alice Toynton Canford School Emmanuel

Video credits: Sally Bradley

12841301_1697336350555952_7813816380309652136_o 12828296_1697336510555936_8734371954741776215_o

Photo credits: Ed Doppler

2016. Cambridge Men's Blues 2: Oxford Men's Blues 1
Name School College
Peter Akyol George Watson's School Jesus
Jamie E Bristow Dr. Challoner's Grammar School Fitzwilliam
Samuel W Brooks Eastbourne College Robinson
Matthew Cockerill Royal Grammar School (Guildford) St. John's
Fergus Flanaghan* Oundle School Gonville & Caius
Monty Fynn Oakham School Gonville & Caius
Kieran Gilmore Simon Langton Grammar School for Boys St. Catharine's
Richard Hesketh The Perse School Christ's
Thomas Jackson Warwick School Girton
Fergus McNab Firrhill School (Edinburgh) Magdalene
Joseph Rich Colchester Royal Grammar School St. John's
Niklas Rieger Gymnasium Broich Mülheim/Ruhr Girton
Nipuna VS Senaratne Eton College Jesus
Johnny Staunton-Sykes St. Aidan's and St. John's Associated 6th Form Jesus
Timothy B Swinn King Edward VI School (Southampton) Gonville & Caius
Christopher Webster Trinity School Girton

*Wanderers’ Colours

Video credits: Tim Swinn

12783568_1697336857222568_8252240113360434854_o 10443278_1697337257222528_881351968153787985_o12828274_1697337483889172_5219212037559497598_o (1)

Photo credits: Ed Doppler